Mumbai: ‘President's Cup’ for women cricket tournament kick-started at Wankhede

The finals will held on February 10 at Wankhede Stadium

Mumbai: ‘President's Cup’ for women cricket tournament kick-started at Wankhede

Prior to the most awaited Women's IPL auction, a talent exposure tournament titled the ‘President's Cup’ for women has kickstarted at the Wankhede Stadium from today, i.e. February 7, 2023, organised by the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA). This is being done to showcase the talent of Mumbai’s women cricketers to the talent scouts of all women franchisees.

The event will be streamed live on both Facebook and YouTube for wider reach.

Speaking on promoting women’s participation in cricket, Hon Secretary of MCA, Ajinkya Naik said, “This is the only tournament organised in India by a state association to promote greater women participation in higher levels of cricket. While much is known of the domination of Mumbai and Mumbaikars in Men’s Cricket there have been a vast number of women players from Mumbai who have donned Indian colours. To keep this tradition alive, ‘The President's Cup’ has been created with the specific goal to raise the level of participation.

“With the BCCI taking a huge leap forward by holding the Women’s IPL and having its auction on 13th Feb, this will be the only tournament by a state association to showcase the talent available. All franchisees of BCCI Franchise holders have been invited to watch the matches and scout for talent.”

As per the BCCI rules, it is a T20 format and is being played on a robin round league basis between 4 teams. 

Timings and dates
There will be two matches per day, at 2:00 pm and 6:00 pm, respectively. The finals will be held on February 10, 2023. Matches will be played on February 7,8,9 and 10. 

The President's Cup
It is the most prestigious tournament conducted by MCA. The men’s edition has been there for the last 3 years. This is the first such event for women and the best of the best players will play in this tournament.

Mumbai Unicorns, Mumbai Thunders, Mumbai Blasters, Mumbai Warriors are the teams who will be playing against each other. The winning team will be honoured with glittering trophy, medals and certificates.

Read this story in मराठी
MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates