Sourav Ganguly all set to become BCCI President

The BCCI elections were scheduled to be held on October 23 but with Sourav Ganguly being the only candidate to file his nomination for the top post of Indian cricket, he is set to be elected unopposed


In a recent development for Indian Cricket, former India captain and Cricket Association of Bengal president Sourav Ganguly filed his nomination for the post of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) President in Mumbai on Monday, October 14.

Ganguly was accompanied by former BCCI presidents Niranjan Shah, N Srinivasan and former Indian Premier League (IPL) Chairman Rajeev Shukla at the BCCI headquarters as he arrived in Mumbai to file his nomination on Monday.

Earlier, the elections for BCCI were scheduled to be held on October 23 but with Ganguly being the only candidate to file his nomination for the post of BCCI President, he is set to be elected unopposed. The deadline to submit the nominations is October 14 for five office bearer's posts that are up for grabs in the electoral process.

Also Read: Anil Kumble To Be The New Head Coach Of Kings XI Punjab

Prior to this, a consensus between the state units of BCCI was built during an unofficial meeting last week. During which, Ganguly was unanimously accepted as the presidential candidate by the representatives of the state units.

Meanwhile, with this, the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA)'s tenure too will come to an end after 33 months. 

Also Read: Tennis Premier League 2019: Leander Paes' Mumbai Franchise Backs Young Talents In Player Auction

Former India and Karnataka cricketer, Brijesh Patel was being considered as a favourite to become BCCI president but following a dramatic turn of events, Ganguly emerged as the frontrunner. Accordingly, Brijesh Patel is now set to become the chairman of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Along with the former Indian captain Ganguly, Home Minister Amit Shah's son, Jay Shah is set to become the BCCI secretary. On the other hand, Arun Singh Dhumal, brother of former BCCI President Anurag Thakur, has filed his nomination for the treasurer's position whereas Kerala Cricket Association President Jayesh George has filed nomination for the joint secretary's post.

Latest News