Steve Smith and David Warner debarred from playing in the IPL with immediate effect: BCCI

BCCI came up with the decision after Australia Cricket Board banned the duo for 12 months due to their involvement in the ball-tampering scandal against South Africa.


Australian cricket players, Steve Smith and David Warner have been forbidden from participating in the 11th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) this year. The decision came from BCCI after they were banned from playing International Cricket by the Australian Cricket Board for 12 months.

Warner and Smith stepped down as the national team captain and vice-captain respectively last week after they admitted to devising a plan to tamper with the ball during the third test against South Africa in Cape Town.

Cameron Bancroft, Australian opener was caught on camera scratching the ball with a piece of yellow paper before he hid it in his trousers. The opener later disclosed that he was trying to tamper with the ball for generating reverse swing rapidly. He too has been banned from playing International Cricket for nine months by the Australian Board.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) Committee of Administrator’s, Acting President CK Khanna, and Acting Secretary Amitabh Choudhary, along with the consultation of Rajiv Shukla, IPL Chairman decided to ban Smith and Warner.

BCCI has directed their respective teams, Rajasthan Royals, and Sunrisers Hyderabad to find a replacement for Steve Smith and David Warner.

Also Read: IPL 2018: Ajinkya Rahane Named Rajasthan Royals Captain After Steve Smith Steps Down

Latest News