T20 Mumbai League 2019: ARCS Andheri beat NaMo Bandra Blasters by five wickets

Despite an all-round performance from Sujit Nayak, who scored a half-century and bagged two wickets for NaMo Bandra Blasters, the side lost to ARCS Andheri by five wickets


A 46-ball 56 from ARCS Andheri batsman Akhil Herwadkar helped Arcs Andheri beat NaMo Bandra Blasters by five wickets in the ongoing T20 Mumbai League.

On Wednesday, May 15, the Andheri side was pit against Bandra in the second match of the day and chased off 177 with a last ball-boundary. Sujit Nayak was the pick of the bowlers for Blasters with 2-19. 

Earlier in the match, star batsman Shreyas Iyer (10) was sent back to the pavilion early but a half-century from Sujit Nayak helped Bandra put a challenging total of 176 for three. Nayak's 21-ball unbeaten 52 was laced with five towering sixes and a boundary. The Bandra batsman stitched an 83-run unbeaten stand for the fourth wicket with Nikhil Patil, who scored 55 not out off 42 balls. Pacer Tushar Deshpande claimed 2-36 for the Andheri side.

In response, the ARCS got off to a great start as they accumulated 24 runs off the first two, with Akhil Herwadkar nabbing two sixes and a four. However, captain Shreyas Iyer decided to introduce spin early on to curb the partnership, and his gamble paid off as Aditya Dhumal struck in just his second delivery to send Sufiyan Sheikh back to the pavilion. 

However, Herwadkar stood his ground and played a crucial inning for Andheri. However, Nayak then struck with the ball and sent the well set Herwadkar to put the Blasters in firm control of the game.

But just when the Blasters looked in control, new batsman Azhar Ansari played a quick cameo of 24 off just 10 deliveries which included four boundaries, to ensure his team needed just 12 runs off the last over. After which, the Andheri batsmen managed to chase the score with a last-ball boundary.

Brief Scores:

ARCS Andheri: (Akhil Herwadkar 56, Shubham Ranjane 39, Sujit Nayak 2-19) beat NaMo Bandra Blasters: (Nikhil Patil 55, Sujit Nayak 52, Tushar Deshpande 2-36) by five wickets.