T20 Mumbai League 2019: North Mumbai Panthers advance to semi-final with a 44-run win over Knights

Sairaj Patil and Swapnil Salvi though managed to steady the ship for the Panthers as to take the attack back to the opposition by putting on a fifty run partnership


A solitary half-century by Sairaj Patil along with some sensational bowling by the spin department helped the North Mumbai Panthers get a resounding run victory over the Triumph Knights Mumbai North East. The victory sees the Panthers progress to the semi-finals as Triumph Knights wait for agonising for their fate to now be decided depending on tomorrow’s results. 

After being put in to bat, captain Prithvi Shaw made the Triumph Knights rue that decision as he smashed 25 runs off the first two overs, with three fours and a six. However, an inspired piece of fielding coupled with a direct hit from captain Suryakumar Yadav saw the end of Shaw in the third over.

Following the wicket, the Knights began to capitalize the game with their spinners Parikshit Valasangkar and Yash Dicholkar. Their perseverance paid off as Dicholkar picked the wicket of Vishal Dhagaokar to leave the Panthers at 52/3 after seven overs. The very next over, Akash Parkar got into the act as he dismissed the well-set Jude Singh for 17.

Sairaj Patil and Swapnil Salvi though managed to steady the ship for the Panthers as to take the attack back to the opposition by putting on a fifty run partnership. Patil played the role of the aggressor, scoring the odd boundaries to keep his side ahead of the curb. He targeted rookie bowler Mohit Awasthi, scoring a six and a four off the 15th over to take the score past a hundred.

Also Read: T20 Mumbai League 2019: SoBo Supersonics' Bowlers Lead The Team To Semi-Final

Royston Dias though brought the Knights back into the game by bowling a peach of an over next up, conceding just four runs as well as picking up the wicket of Salvi. New man Shashikant Kadam though kept the charge going for the batting team, taking 13 runs off spinner Valasangkar.

Although the very next over, he fell victim to Dias as his mistimed shot found the fielder in the deep. Patil though remained strong at the other end, as the Panthers added 19 off the last two overs to set a competitive total of 154 for the Triumph Knights.

In reply, the Knights got off to a solid start, scoring 22 off the first three before Atif Attarwala struck for the Panther, dismissing in-form Sumit Ghadigaokar. Things got worse as fellow opener Siddhanth Adhatrao was also sent packing by Prathamesh Date in the next over to consolidate their grip on the game.

Soon after the powerplay, the third wicket fell for the Knights as Valasangkar was sent packing by Pravin Tambe off his very first ball of the match. Yadav though kept his side in the hunt by scoring boundaries in back-to-back overs to ensure the asking rate never got too difficult.

However, in the 10th over, spinner Rahul Sawant got the big fish, as he trapped the Triumph Knights captain plumb in front of the wicket to leave the score at 54/4. Following the wicket, the Panther spinners began weaving their magic as they only conceded 23 in the next five overs, while also picking up the wicket of Karan More.

With the asking rate beyond 12, the Triumph Knights had to play their shots, and that resulted in another in another breakthrough as Vinayak Bhoir was out caught at mid-on off Attarwala’s bowling. Puneet Tripathi was the next to follow, as an attempted shot for a six only found the fielder in the deep to leave the equation at 70 off the last four overs, with three wickets in hand.   

The Panthers though kept the pressure going, relentless in their charge for a victory as they conceded two boundaries in the final three overs, as they cruised to a clinical 44 run win over the reigning champions.

Brief Score:

North Mumbai Panthers: 153/6 (Sairaj Patil 59, Prithvi Shaw 23, Royston Dias 2/34) beat Triumph Knights MNE: 109/7 (Akash Parkar 20, Suryakumar Yadav 14, Pravin Tambe 2/17)