2008 Malegaon Blast Case: Lt Purohit along with others charged with terror conspiracy under UAPA

Earlier, after Lt Col Shrikant Purohit had challenged the order of an NIA special court, Bombay HC on Monday refused to put a stay on framing of charges against Purohit in connection with the 2008 Malegaon Blast Case.


In connection with the 2008 Malegaon Blast Case, a National Investigation Agency (NIA) special court on Tuesday framed charges against accused including Lt Colonel Shrikant Prasad Purohit, Sandhvi Pragya Singh Thakur and five others under various sections of Indian Penal Code (IPC) and Unlawful Activity Prevention Act (UAPA). 

The accused have been charged with UAPA for their indulgence in terror activity and various section of IPC have been imposed on them for murder and criminal conspiracy. 

Also Read - Malegaon Blast Case: Bombay HC To Hear Purohit’s Petition On October 29

After an NIA special court on October 20 decided to prosecute the accused under UAPA only, Purohit challenged the decision by filing a petition in Bombay High Court seeking the removal of terror charges filed by the special court. 

However, on Monday, Bombay HC refused to put a stay on the framing of charges against Purohit. As of now, along with Purohit and Sadhvi Pragya, Retired Major Ramesh Upadhyay, Sameer Kulkarni, Ajay Rahirkar, Sudhakar Dwivedi, and Sudhakar Chaturvedi are all charged under UAPA. 

Latest News