10 MU affiliated colleges demand autonomy

The new regulations by the University Grants Commission (UGC) have made it easier for colleges to attain autonomy.


After 13 colleges affiliated to Mumbai University received the autonomy status, 10 more colleges which include Narsi Monji College, S.K. Somaiya College, D.G. Ruparel College, R.A. Podar College, Nirmala Niketan College and others have applied to become autonomous. This move is being demanded due to the introduction of the new regulations by the University Grants Commission (UGC), where the number of autonomous colleges can increase.

Currently, 750 colleges are affiliated to Mumbai University and due to a large number of affiliations, authorities are facing a toll on the functioning of the university, as there have been problems in managing them all. However, if a college becomes autonomous, then the university will be relieved from managing the colleges.

Further, autonomous colleges also have the right to conduct examinations independently. However, to become economically autonomous, the colleges have to wait for five years.

A few months back, UGC issued a new set of regulations which changed the rules for colleges seeking autonomy. Accordingly, colleges with an ‘A’ Grade NAAC Accreditation with a 3.51 CGPA (Cumulative Grade Point Average) will automatically be eligible for autonomy.

Prior to the new regulation, if a college wanted to be autonomous, then they had to achieve ‘A’ Grade NAAC Accreditation three consecutive times. Also, a committee would be sent by Mumbai University for examining the college before allotting autonomy to it.