Voting starts for Palghar Lok Sabha by-election; disturbance with EVMs reported

After the huge tussle between Shiv Sena and BJP during campaigns, the voting for Palghar Lok Sabha by-election has started

Voting starts for Palghar Lok Sabha by-election; disturbance with EVMs reported

Voting for the four Lok Sabha seats began today in the city, which include the politically crucial Palghar Lok Sabha constituency in Maharashtra. The process is underway for 10 assembly seats across 10 states in the country.

Along with Palghar, the voting for the Lok Sabha bypolls is being conducted in Maharashtra’s Bhandara-Gondiya, Uttar Pradesh’s Kairana, and Nagaland. The voting in Palghar constituency started at 7:00 in the morning and will go on till 5:00 PM.

Earlier in the day, the voting process was interrupted due to the disturbance caused by the failure of EVM machines in Palghar’s Saiwan, Medha, Majhiwala. Polling booths number 107, 117 at Manvel were opened late by 20 minutes for the voters. Two machines in booth number 13 are closed in Nalasopara.

Competing against each other, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena campaigned strongly for the bypoll here in Palghar. The massive tussle between the two parties comes after the Shiv Sena gave the ticket to the son of late BJP MP Chintaman Vanga. Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis had earlier called Shiv Sena “dishonest” for this move and BJP invited Manoj Tiwari and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath to campaign for the Palghar bypolls.

Also Read - BJP Vs Shiv Sena: The 'Bypoll' Power Play

While campaigning, the Shiv Sena released an audio tape of CM Fadnavis where he can be heard speaking about winning the elections by any means – Sama, Dama, Danda, and Bheda. However, CM has rejected the accusations and said that this is my audio clip but an edited version of the same.

Amid the ongoing war of words, while campaigning for the Palghar Lok Sabha bypoll, its result will create a new development in the relation of both the parties and the Maharashtra politics. Shiv Sena had claimed earlier that it won’t ally with the BJP the upcoming Maharashtra elections in 2019.