Sharad Pawar likely to contest Lok Sabha elections from Madha

Earlier it seemed that the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) chief Sharad Pawar would not contest Lok Sabha elections. However, the NCP Supremo will be standing from Madha constituency


The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) chief Sharad Pawar will soon be contesting for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Maharashtra's Madha constituency. However, the final call for the same will be made by the party by the end of the month.

Since 2009, the National Congress Party has managed to emerge victorious at the Madha constituency and has retained the seat. Currently, the Member of Parliament for Madha is Vijay Singh Mohite Patil.

Also Read: Shiv Sena-BJP Alliance: Shiv Sena Insist On The 1995 Formula Of Seat Sharing After Thackeray-Shah Teleconference

The candidature for the seat hasn't yet been handed over to Pawar but it is certain that the NCP president will contest for the Lok Sabha elections this year. The 78-year-old Pawar has served as the Maharashtra Chief Minister three times till now. At present, he is a member of the Rajya Sabha.

Along with this, it is expected that Dhananjay Mahadik will receive the ticket from Kolhapur, Udayan Raje Bhosale from Satara, Supriya Sule from Baramati, Pawar's grandson Parth Pawar from Mawal. At the same time, Ganesh Naik is likely to get candidacy from Thane.

Latest News