Shiv Sena MP Arvind Sawant gets a front row seat in Lok Sabha

Sawant, who holds the ministry of heavy industries and public enterprise, will be accompanying PM Modi in the first row in the Parliament


During seat-allocation by Lok Sabha speaker Om Birla in the lower house, Union Minister Arvind Sawant was allotted a spot in the front row of the Parliament alongside Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other noted union ministers. Sawant holds the ministry of heavy industries and public enterprise and won the 2019 Lok Sabha election from the Mumbai South constituency against Congress leader Milind Deora. 

The seat allocation was carried out on Wednesday by the speaker. As per the allocations, the opposition leaders including UPA chairman Sonia Gandhi, TR Baalu and Mulayam Singh Yadav will sit in the first row.

However, former Congress President Rahul Gandhi will remain seated in the second row while Union Minister Smriti Irani has been shifted to the first row. Notably, Smriti Irani defeated Rahul Gandhi during the 2019 Lok Sabha election from Amethi. 

Also Read: BJP-Shiv Sena To Contest Upcoming Assembly Polls Together According To CM Fadnavis

The first seat in the first row has been assigned to the Prime Minister followed by the Home Minister and Defence Minister. Sawant will be accompanying them in the first row as well.  

Latest News