Six-time NCP MLA Dilip Sopal joins Shiv Sena

Along with Sopal, ex-Congress leaders Dileep Mane and Nagnath Kshirsagar was also inducted in Shiv Sena in the presence of party chief Uddhav Thackeray at the latter’s residence

Six-time NCP MLA Dilip Sopal joins Shiv Sena

After resigning from his post as a legislator, former Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Dilip Sopal on Wednesday joined Shiv Sena ahead of the upcoming Maharashtra assembly elections.

Sopal announced his resignation from his post as NCP MLA on Monday to formally join Shiv Sena. The senior leader has been a six-time MLA and won from Barshi assembly constituency during the 2014 state assembly elections. 

While talking to the media, Uddhav Thackeray said that the local leaders were consulted before making the fresh inductions. “We have not kept anyone in dark regarding such political decision,” Thackeray asserted.

Along with Sopal, ex-Congress leaders Dileep Mane and Nagnath Kshirsagar were also inducted in Shiv Sena in the presence of party chief Uddhav Thackeray at the latter’s residence. 

Mane contested the 2014 assembly elections from Congress and lost to Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Subhash Deshmukh from Solapur-South constituency. 

Also Read - Sugarcane-Cutting Women Labourers To Undergo Health Check-Ups: Maharashtra Government

This loyalty shift comes ahead of the upcoming Maharashtra assembly elections which are scheduled mid-October this year. Earlier, senior NCP leaders including Sachin Ahir, Chitra Wagh and Sandeep Naik. 

Read this story in मराठी
MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates