Who will hold the keys of BMC treasury?

Who will hold the keys of BMC treasury?

Mumbai – Though the result of BMC elections is out, it is still not known who will control the treasury of the richest civic body in the country. The common people, as well as political observers, are keen to know who will handle the crucial standing committee.

The Shiv Sena and the BJP are trying their best to form their rule in the BMC. In case they again come together and form their rule, the Sena will be given the Mayor’s post while BJP will control the chairperson’s position in the standing committee. The BJP has accordingly and it came to public notice after chief minister Devendra Fadnavis’ meeting with prime minister Narendra Modi in Delhi. Fadnavis is reported to be cautious about Sena and is trying for patch up between these parties. Though the BJP has kept its options open, it will not compromise with the party’s pride.

On the other hand, many senior Sena corporators have started efforts to bag this coveted post. The chances of Yashwant Jadhav are over as he is being nominated as party’s group leader in the BMC. The women corporators are also in the race for this position as the Sena has not given this post to any woman corporator till date. Shubhada Gudekar, Rajul Patel, Vishakha Raut, Shraddha Jadhav, Kishori Pednekar are some of the senior women corporators who have speed up their efforts in this regard.

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates