Third Master’s National Snooker Championship 2019: Anuj Uppal claims the Master's Snooker title

The victor Anuj Uppal was steady and showed better consistency with his potting as he constructed two substantial breaks to defeat the experienced Rafat Habib


Anuj Uppal of Delhi emerged champions by prevailing over seasoned pro, Rafat Habib of Railways 5-3 in the final of the MIG Cricket Club organized third Master’s National Snooker Championship 2019 and played at the MIG Club billiards hall on Thursday. The event is being organised under the aegis of BSFI and BSAM.

The Delhi cueist Uppal showed better nerves and took his chances against the Tamil Nadu’s Habib who was not at his usual best and was not really up to the challenge for a fight.

Uppal was steady and showed better consistency with his potting as he constructed two substantial breaks to run out worthy winner. He started with a run of 63 in the first and then signed off in grand fashion compiling a break of 70 in the eighth to clinching a 86-23, 52-77, 76-48, 01-76,  56-47, 64-42, 11-71 and 75-05 victory and win his maiden title. Habib had just one good effort of 42 in the fourth frame.

Earlier, Geet Sethi of Gujarat showed his mastery as he came from behind to overcome Maharashtra’s Cherag Ramakrishnan by a 3-2 frame scores in the best-of-5 frames Third Place deciding match.

The burly Mumbai-based Ramakrishnan started well and grabbed a 2-1 lead. But the articulate and highly proficient Sethi stamped his class by rolling in a massive break of 84 to pocket the fourth and take the match the distance.

In a tense final frame, both cueists were cautious and resorted to safety tactics. Ramakrishnan enjoyed a marginal 41-31 lead with the last three reds sitting on the top cushion. Both played a couple of safe shots keeping the cue ball away from the reds before the Mumbai challenger hit the reds a bit too hard and sold a red in the top pocket. Sethi seized the opening and potted the reds and up to the green to compile a break of 25 and take a 56-41 lead. After a couple of visits Sethi also managed to sink the brown and blue to win the frame and complete a 7-65, 71-61, 53-64, 91-12 and 65-41 victory.


Third place: Geet Sethi (Guj) beat Cherag Ramakrishnan (MAH) 3-2 (7-65, 71-61, 53-64, 91(84)-12, 65-41).

Final: Anuj Uppal (DEL) beat Rafat Habib (RLYS) 5-3 (86(63)-23, 52-77, 76-48, 01-76(42),  56-47, 64-42, 11-71, 75(70)-05).

Latest News