Top seeds Tyrone, Vikrant march into quarter-finals

Top seeds Tyrone, Vikrant march into quarter-finals

The top two seeds Tyrone Pereira and Vikrant Ninave strolled into the quarter-final round of the Boys’ under-17 singles event of the CCI-Greater Mumbai District Badminton Championship 2018, jointly organized by the Cricket Club of India (CCI) and the Greater Mumbai Badminton Association (GBMA).

The number one seed Tyrone did not have to push hard and played at a relaxed pace against Vedant Shrivastav and still managed to cruise to a 15-10, 15-10 victory in a prequarter-final match at the CCI courts on Monday.

The second-seeded Vikrant, who stepped on the court after Tyrone, also enjoyed an easy outing against Krish Thakur 15-12, 15-13 and he, too, did have to stretch himself as he completed a facile 15-12, 15-13 victory to also advance to the last eight round.

Earlier, Tyrone survived a first-round scare as he came from behind to overcome Ainoor Khan 13-15, 15-7, 15-9. In other hard-found matches, Vedant Shrivastav played well to defeat Julian Korda 15-13, 7-15, 15-8 and Diyan Jain showed excellent fighting qualities to score a 15-6, 14-15, 15-13 win against Aaditya Chaudhary and advance to the second round.

In Girls’ under-13 second-round matches, top seed Taarini Suri easily defeated Aarya Mujumdar 15-1, 15-1 and second seed Nayshaa Batoye outplayed Ananya Shah winning at 15-2, 15-1.

In the Boys under-13 singles second round encounters, the number one seed Shaswat Kumar overcame Viraj Bhiwandikar 15-5, 15-5 and second seed Vajra Mainkar proved too good for Vidit Bohra and romped to a 15-1, 15-7 win.

Results - Girls under-17 singles (1st round): Stuti Gala bt Karishma Kapoor 15-9, 15-10; Vaidehi Suryavanshi bt Krishi Jain 14-15, 15-7, 15-12.

Boys under-17 singles (1st round): Tyrone Pereira bt Ainoor Khan 13-15, 15-7, 15-9; Vedant Shrivastav bt Julian Korda 15-13, 7-15, 15-8; Shivam Mirke bt Snehil Kumar 15-2, 15-9; Ankit Kumar bt Suryansh Sheth 13-15, 15-13, 15-8; Ruturaj Rathod bt Jainam Bohra 15-5, 15-7; Pranav Kamble bt Soham Pimpale 15-3, 15-4; Diyan Jain bt Aaditya Chaudhary 15-6, 14-15, 15-13.

Second round): Tyrone Pereira bt Vedant Shrivastav 15-10, 15-10; Vikrant Ninave bt Krish Thakur 15-12, 15-13; Aaryavardhan Jadhav bt Piroze Katrak 15-7, 15-7; Diyan Jain bt Pranav Kamble 15-6, 15-12; Darius Pardiwala bt Kapish Pat

Girls under-13 singles (2nd round): Taarini Suri[1] Aarya Mujumdar 15-1, 15-1; Siya Dahake bt Riya Choudhary 12-15, 15-10, 15-10; Mithila Shinde bt Ananya Kotwal 15-3, 15-2; Ananya Nanda bt Reynaa Nair 15-4, 15-5; Nayshaa Batoye bt Ananya Shah 15-2, 15-1.

Boys under-13 singles (2nd round): Shaswat Kumar bt Viraj Bhiwandikar 15-5, 15-5; Atharva Sawant bt Daivik Kambodiya 14-15, 15-10, 15-6; Ahan Niture bt Aditya Ubale 15-14, 14-15, 15-13; Harmaan Maliye bt Aarav Lamb 14-15, 15-7, 15-9; Aryan Sikchi bt Aarav Sagar 15-13, 15-11; Vajra Mainkar bt Vidit Bohra 15-1 15-7.

Read this story in मराठी
MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates