IPL 2018 Opening Ceremony: All You Need To Know About The Glamorous Event

The 11th edition of Vivo Indian Premier League is just around the corner and the entire country is eagerly waiting for April 7, 2018. The opening ceremony is a decorated segment of IPL and this year has a lot of glitz and glamour in store


Cash-rich Indian Premier League kick starts on Saturday, April 7, 2018, with defending champions Mumbai Indians taking on a returning Chennai Super Kings (CSK) side at Wankhede SRanveer Singhtadium in Mumbai. Before the match starts, there's a lot in store for the fans across the country as the opening ceremony will add glitz and glamour to the tournament. Here's all you need to know about the IPL 2018 opening ceremony.

IPL 2018 opening ceremony date

Saturday, April 7, 2018

IPL 2018 opening ceremony time

The IPL 2018 opening ceremony will commence at 5:00 pm on April 7. It will be a 90-minute show which will end at 7:15 pm, 15 minutes prior to the toss between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. 

The match will start at 8:00 pm.

IPL 2018 opening ceremony performers

A number of A-listers like Parineeti Chopra, Varun Dhawan, Jacqueline Fernandez, and Hrithik Roshan will be performing at the IPL 2018 opening ceremony.

It was also reported that actor Ranveer Singh was supposed to perform at the event but due to some injury, he has pulled out of the event and Hrithik will be replacing him.

CSK and RR are BACK!

IPL 2018 will also see the return of two of the old franchises – Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals after their two-season ban replacing Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants.

This season also has a new broadcaster — Star Sports — after Sony lost out on broadcasting rights.

Excitement is in the air and the new changes will be welcomed with fresh enthusiasm as one of the biggest T20 league in the world is about to begin!

Latest News