Huge blow for Raj Thackeray as 'SIX' MNS corporators switch to Shiv Sena


What's the story?

Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) Chief Raj Thackeray has been handed a massive blow as six out of seven MNS corporators in the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) on Friday have joined the rival political party and cousin Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena.

Shiv Sena on Thursday, October 12 lost the Bhandup bypolls but this move definitely makes their position in the civic body strong.

Dilip Lande leads other five corporators from MNS to Shiv Sena 

The group of six led by Dilip Lande has written to the Konkan divisional commissioner to allow them to form a separate group in the BMC. Other five corporators are Archana Bhalerao, Parmeshwar Kadam, Ashwini Matekar, Harshila More and Datta Narvankar. 

This move leaves MNS with only ONE corporator in the civic body and this is a huge setback of Raj Thackeray and his party.

These six corporators had Shiv Sena in their blood: Uddhav Thackeray

This is not politics as these six corporators had Shiv Sena in their blood. They are former Shiv Sainik's and are returning home. These six will be part of Shiv Sena now on. If BJP feel we've bribed them overnight, they should now know how powerful and strong Shiv Sena really is," Shiv Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray.

BJP MP Kirit Somaiya accuses Shiv Sena of bribery 

BJP MP Kirit Somaiya complained to the state election commission that a major political party in the Mumbai civic body was trying to bribe corporators.

Our ally in the BMC has tried to kidnap four corporators and they have been offered INR 2-4 Cr each,” Kirit Somaiya.

Civic body seats 

Shiv Sena84 + 6 (MNS corporators who switched)

What next for MNS and Raj Thackeray? And how will BJP go ahead after Shiv Sena's masterstroke?