Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: BJP-Shiv Sena alliance sweeps all six seats in Mumbai

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena alliance managed to win all the six Lok Sabha seats from Mumbai. Along with this, incumbent Prime Minister (PM) Narendra Modi has once again been re-elected as the Prime Minister

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: BJP-Shiv Sena alliance sweeps all six seats in Mumbai

The nation is all set to witness a return of the 'Modi Wave' as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) managed to defeat the Indian National Congress (INC) and attain the majority status. With this win, it is quite evident that incumbent Prime Minister (PM) Narendra Modi has once again been re-elected as the Prime Minister.

Surprisingly, the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance was able to win all the six Lok Sabha seats from Mumbai. The alliance between the two political parties helped them win three seats each. Here's the list of the winners of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 from Mumbai:

Gopal Shetty vs Urmila Matondkar (Mumbai North)

BJP candidate Gopal Shetty managed an easy win against Congress party's candidate Urmila Matondkar, who was fighting the elections for the first time. However, despite losing the election, Matondkar congratulated her opponent and stated that she was going nowhere since it is the beginning of her political career.

North Mumbai Lok Sabha constituency is considered to be an important seat for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Given the history, BJP has managed to maintain its stronghold many times on this seat. With this win, Shetty has managed to retain his North Mumbai seat.

Shetty received 6,88,395 votes whereas Matondkar received 2,35,201 votes.

Gajanan Kirtikar vs Sanjay Nirupam (Mumbai North West)

Shiv Sena candidate Gajanan Kirtikar was fielded against former Mumbai Congress President, Sanjay Nirupam. However, the incumbent leader managed to get re-elected against Nirupam. Ahead of the general elections this year, Nirupam was removed as party’s Mumbai unit President and was replaced by Congress leader Milind Deora. 

Earlier, almost 54.26 per cent voter turnout had been recorded in the city’s North-West Lok Sabha constituency. The highest number of votes had been registered in Jogeshwari West assembly division of the constituency while the lowest had been recorded in Versova area.

Kirtikar received 5,27,960 votes whereas Nirupam could only gain 2,85,775 votes. 

Poonam Mahajan vs Priya Dutt (Mumbai North Central)

BJP's Poonam Mahajan managed to win against Congress party's Priya Dutt once again. Earlier, Mahajan had won the North Central Mumbai seat owing to the Modi wave in 2014. The BJP candidate had won 4,78,535 votes in comparison to Dutt's 2,97,676 votes.

Earlier, Congress candidate Priya Dutt had said that she won't contest elections but eventually she was fielded against Mahajan.

The incumbent Mahajan received 4,81,572 votes as compared to Dutt who received 3,33,803 votes.

Rahul Shewale vs Eknath Gaikwad (Mumbai South Central)

Shiv Sena candidate Rahul Shewale won the Mumbai South Central seat against the Congress candidate Eknath Gaikwad. Despite Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) backing the Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) alliance in the state, Gaikwad was unable to divide Shewale’s votes.

It won’t be wrong to say that Gaikwad’s campaign was weak as compared to that of his opponent. Along with this, it was noted that Gaikwad’s relation with the masses had also fallen weak.

Shewale received 4,24,913 votes and won against Congress' Gaikwad who could only attain 2,72,774 votes.

Arvind Sawant vs Milind Deora (Mumbai South)

Shiv Sena candidate Arvind Sawant caused a major upset as he defeated the current Mumbai Congress President Milind Deora with almost 1 lakh votes. Despite receiving backing from Reliance Chairman Mukesh Ambani, Deora was defeated by the Sena candidate.

Earlier, Shiv Sena leader Arvind Sawant had won the 2014 general elections under the influence of “Modi wave”. Almost 51.46 per cent voter turnout was registered in Mumbai South Lok Sabha constituency on April 29.

Sawant managed to attain 4,20,668 votes whereas Deora lost against the Sena candidate after receiving 3,19,848 votes.

Manoj Kotak vs Sanjay Dina Patil (Mumbai North East)

BJP's gamble to field Manoj Kotak against Nationalist Congress Party's (NCP) Sanjay Dina Patil paid off as Kotak won the Mumbai North East seat by almost 2.5 lakh votes.  

Patil was the lone candidate fielded by NCP in Mumbai. Earlier, Patil had lost in 2014 general election against BJP leader Kirit Somaiya. However, NCP had shown faith in Patil again as he was fielded against Kotak.

Interestingly, BJP had denied Somaiya a ticket for 2019 LS polls and fielded Manoj Kotak to contest for the seat after opposition against Somaiya from Shiv Sena. Sena had stated that if BJP fielded Somaiya as its candidate, Shiv Sena will work to defeat the BJP leader.

Kotak received 5,14,599 votes as compared to NCP's Sanjay Dina Patil who received only 2,88,113 votes.

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates