Anushakti Nagar Assembly Constituency: NCP's Nawab Malik vs Shiv Sena's Tukaram Kate

Of the 288 assembly seats, Anushakti Nagar is the 172nd constituency in Maharashtra which is a part of Mumbai suburban district and comes under the city's South Central Parliamentary constituency

Anushakti Nagar Assembly Constituency: NCP's Nawab Malik vs Shiv Sena's Tukaram Kate

The assembly elections in Maharashtra are scheduled on October 21 and people will vote to elect their representative in 288 constituencies across the state. 

Of the 288 assembly seats, Anushakti Nagar is the 172nd constituency in Maharashtra which is a part of Mumbai suburban district and comes under the city's South Central Parliamentary constituency. 

Under the Mumbai South Central Lok Sabha constituency, the assembly constituency includes Anushakti Nagar, Sion Koliwada, Wadala and Mahim.

In Anushakti Nagar constituency, the prominent faces which are contesting the assembly polls in 2019 include Nationalist Congress Party's (NCP) Nawab Malik and Shiv Sena's Tukaram Kate among others. 

Of the total 28,9188 voters in Anushkati Nagar area, the 1,59,569 are males and 1,29,619 voters are female. 

In 2009, Malik defeated Tikaram Kate by nearly 6,000 votes. The name of this constituency is derived from Atomic power and the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre is situated in this area. 

In 2014 assembly elections, of the 1,35,289 voters in Anushakti Nagar seat, 1,59,579 were males and 1,29,609 were female voters. Maharashtra got a total 47 per cent votes in 2014 and Kate defeated Malik by 1,007 votes. 

In Mumbai, due to the redeveloped in the constituency several people were to rehabilitated. They have been given accommodation but they still have to wait for other facilities. There are a large number of people in the area due to which the facilities including schools, health clinics are less in number.