Number of women corporators goes up in BMC

    Number of women corporators goes up in BMC
    Mumbai  -  

    Mumbai - As per the reservation rules, half of the seats in the BMC were reserved for women. But 123 women have got elected in the BMC election which will lead to the ‘Mahila Raj’ in the civic body.

    The total strength of BMC is 227. Half of these seats (114) were reserved for women but nine more women than this reserved number got elected. Only 10-15% of these elected women candidates have experience of the BMC functioning in the capacity of sitting or former corporators. Remaining other entrants are new and inexperienced. In the last civic election, 119 women corporators had got elected and their term is coming to an end on March 8. Sheetal Mhatre, Ajanta Yadav, Geeta Yadav, Dr Saeda Khan, Shraddha Jadhav, Yamini Jadhav, Samita Kamble, Jyoti Alwani, Sneha Zagde, Anisha Majgaonkar, Samita Naik, Vaishnavi Sarfare, Priyanka Shrungare, Geeta Chavhan, Neha Patil etc had left their impression in the sitting BMC house. The experience of these corporators is expected to help the new women corporators.

    Many women corporators including Dr Shubha Raul did not contest this time. Many studious and aggressive women corporators like Trushna Vishwasrao, Dr Anuradha Pednekar, Sheetal Mhatre who fought this time faced defeat.

    Though the number of women corporators has increased in the BMC house, the voice of these new women corporators will rise or not can be seen in next few years.

    Loading Comments

    Related News

    © 2018 MumbaiLive. All Rights Reserved.