Sena bags deputy mayor’s post after 25 years

    Sena bags deputy mayor’s post after 25 years
    Mumbai  -  

    Mumbai – The Shiv Sena candidates for mayor and deputy mayor’s posts won comfortably with the support from the BJP though these parties fought the BMC elections separately. The BJP maintained its support in the deputy mayor’s election after giving it for the mayor’s post. Sena candidate Hemangi Worlikar defeated Congress nominee Winnie D’Souza by a huge margin. Worlikar bagged 166 votes while D’Souza could muster only 31. This for the first time in the history of BMC that Sena candidate for deputy mayor got elected along with mayoral candidate.
    As per tradition, Sena candidate gets elected as mayor of the city while his deputy usually comes from the alliance partner, BJP. As the BJP has not fielded its candidate in the deputy mayor’s election, Sena’s Worlikar set a record.

    Meanwhile, Sena’s Vishwanath Mahadeshwar secured 171 votes in the mayoral election but Worlikar received 166 votes as five votes were declared invalid. Worlikar’s opponent D’Souza bagged only 31 votes as the Samajwadi Party, NCP, MIM corporators remained neutral in this election while one corporator each from the MNS and MIM remained absent.

    Shiv Sena and BJP raised slogans about Bal Thackeray and Modi 

    After registering the win in mayor’s election, Sena corporators celebrated it by raising slogans in the name of Balasaheb Thackeray. Giving a fitting reply to them, BJP members also raised the slogans in favour of prime minister Narendra Modi before the presiding officer announced the winner of deputy mayor’s election. The similar situation is likely to be witnessed also in the future.

    Loading Comments
    © 2018 MumbaiLive. All Rights Reserved.