Rahane nails it as a captain, India wins Border- Gavaskar trophy


Stand in skipper Ajinkya Rahane is the only second Indian skipper who has won his maiden game across all formats. India won the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after defeating Australia in Dharamsala by 8 wickets.

Rahane was given the responsibility of handling captaincy after Virat Kohli got injured on the opening day of the third test. This was the first time Rahane was asked to lead from the front and he proved his mettle as he smashed Aussie bowlers. Rahane is considered to the fifth Mumbai player for winning the test series as a captain and ninth Indian captain. 

Rahane’s wife Radhika Rahane too got excited by the victory. “I am very happy that Ajinkya won the captain and also that we won the test series on the occasion of Gudi Padwa, this will surely be the special day for us,” said Rahdika Rahane.  

Prior to this, other Indian players such as Indian captain Sunil Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri, Sachin Tendulkar, Saurabh Ganguly, Virendra Sehwag, Ajinkya Rahane and Dhoni have won the test series as a captain.