Maharashtra E-Pass: Who Is Eligible? How to Apply? More Details Here

Maharashtra E-Pass: Who Is Eligible? How to Apply? More Details Here

People are too familiar with the e-pass system that was used by police across most states last year to allow vehicular travel between other districts or states. This system is now back in Maharashtra, although this time, it is specifically designed for the personal use of citizens in “extreme emergency” situations.

This comes as new restrictions have been placed on office attendance, weddings, and other gatherings starting on the night of April 22. Maharashtra continues to be the epicenter of the coronavirus pandemic, following which some restrictions were first announced on April 14. However, the state announced more stringent restrictions on April 21. 

Read - Here Are The Revised Guidelines For Travelling During The Lockdown

State police officials urged that the new e-pass should only be used in the event of an emergency. Here are the steps to apply for an e-pass in Maharashtra. 

  • Visit 
  • Click 'apply for pass here'
  • Pick district of travel
  • Upload necessary documents
  • List out valid reason for the “extreme emergency” travel

It is recommended to combine all documents in a single file during the upload process. After the application is submitted, users will receive a token ID. This ID can be used to check the status of your application. 

The application will then be verified and approved if the reasons mentioned meet the criteria, following which the user can download the e-pass using the token ID provided during the application process. 

The e-pass will contain your name, vehicle registration number, validity of the pass, as well as a QR code. Citizens can either show a physical or digital copy of the pass when requested by the police. The presence of a unique QR code in each e-pass allows the police to scan them and authenticate every individual. 

Also readMumbai: 306 People Booked For COVID-19 Lockdown Violations

Officials said that people who are unable to go online for an emergency e-pass can head over to their nearest police station to get it.  
It must be specified that the e-pass is only required for individual residents in Maharashtra. Essential and frontline workers do not require a pass to move around the districts or out of the state. 

Read13 Patients Killed After Fire Breaks Out At COVID-19 Care Center In Virar; CM Orders Enquiry

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates