3 Member Ward System Approved In All Municipal Corporations Except Mumbai

The Maharashtra government has taken a big decision against the backdrop of municipal elections.

3 Member Ward System Approved In All Municipal Corporations Except Mumbai

The Maharashtra government has undertaken a monumental decision in the backdrop of the municipal elections. All Municipal Corporations except Mumbai will have a 3-member ward system. According to reports, State Urban Development Minister Eknath Shinde has announced the decision in a press conference.

Whilst Mumbai will have a ward system, the two-member ward system will be in the Nagarpalika and Nagar Parishad, the Nagar Panchayat will also have a one-member system.

In the cabinet meeting of the state government held on Wednesday, it was decided that to make three wards for other municipal elections except for the Mumbai Municipal Corporation. Reports claim that Ajit Pawar had to withdraw his stance under the pressure of Congress and Shiv Sena.

Eknath Shinde said that this decision was taken for the benefit of the people. He elaborated that the larger the membership, the easier it is for people to carry out development work and the work is done faster. He said that this is the reason that this decision was undertaken.

In the 2017 municipal elections known as the mini assembly, BJP had come into power in Pune, Nashik, Aurangabad, Solapur and Nagpur. But as soon as the Mahavikas Aghadi government came into power in the state, they changed the law and brought back the one-member ward system. It is said that Ajit Pawar himself had taken the initiative and decided to abolish the ward system.

Elections for Mumbai, Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Thane, Ulhasnagar, Bhiwandi-Nizampur, Panvel, Mira-Bhayander, Solapur, Nashik, Malegaon, Parbhani, Nanded-Waghala, Latur, Amravati, Akola, Nagpur and Chandrapur will be held next year.

Also Read: Maharashtra: Chief Minister And Governor’s Exchange Of Letters Over Crime Against Women

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates