Citizenship Amendment Bill: Shiv Sena stages walkout in Rajya Sabha

Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut justified the walkout saying that the government failed to answer their concerns regarding the CAB. Shiv Sena has three MPs in the Rajya Sabha.


Shiv Sena on Wednesday staged a walkout in Rajya Sabha abandoning the voting on Citizenship (Amendment) Bill. Shiv Sena stated that they walked out due to unsatisfactory response to the queries related to the CAB.

Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut justified the walkout saying that the government failed to answer their concerns regarding the CAB. Shiv Sena has three MPs in the Rajya Sabha. 

Sena took a U-turn ahead of the CAB debate in Rajya Sabha. In Lok Sabha, Shiv Sena had earlier supported the CAB while 18 of their MPs voted in favour of the bill. 

The ‘change of stance’ happened after Congress leader Rahul Gandhi expressed displeasure over Sena backing the Citizenship Amendment Bill. 

On Twitter, Rahul Gandhi had said that those who support CAB are attacking and attempting to destroy the foundation of our nation. 

Earlier, Uddhav Thackeray on Tuesday had said that Shiv Sena may not support the bill in Rajya Sabha until there’s clarity on queries put forward by Shiv Sena. 

In its editorial published in ‘Saamana’, Shiv Sena had questioned the intention of the bill saying that it can be a tool for “vote bank politics” which is not in the interest of the country. Sena had also suggested to not give voting rights to the new citizens for the next 25 years. 

It was learned that Congress might have pulled out of the Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) in Maharashtra if Sena had backed the bill in Rajya Sabha.

Also Read - Uddhav Thackeray's Oath Ceremony At Shivaji Park In Accordance With Rules: BMC Tells Bombay HC

However, the CAB was passed in Rajya Sabha on Wednesday after intense debate.

Latest News