Congress' Zeeshan Siddiqui's win from Bandra East embarrassing for Shiv Sena

Mahadeshwar's losing from Bandra Eas is a major setback for Shiv Sena and Matoshree, the resident of Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, is situated in the same constituency


In the Maharashtra assembly elections, Shiv Sena managed to win on 55 seats out of 124. However, Mumbai Mayor Vishwanath Mahadeshwar who contested the assembly polls on Shiv Sena seat from Bandra East was defeated by Congress candidate Zeeshan Siddique.

This is a major setback for Mahadeshwar and Matoshree, the resident of Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, is situated in Bandra East assembly constituency. 

Trupti Sawant, who was denied ticket being a sitting Shiv Sena MLA from Bandra East, decided to contest the assembly polls as an independent candidate against Mahadeshwar. 

This led to the division of votes between the Shiv Sena candidate (Mahadeshwar) and the Shiv Sena rebel (Trupti Sawant) which benefitted the Congress candidate Zeeshan Siddiqui to win the assembly polls. 

Also Read - Maharasthra Assemble Election Results: Did Mumbaikar’s Vote Keeping Aarey In Mind?

Zeeshan Siddiqui managed to get 37,636 votes while Vishwanath Mahadeshwar received 23,069 votes followed by Trupti Sawant who got 23,856 votes. If Sawant wouldn’t have rebelled, Mahadeshwar could have easily defeated Congress candidate Zeeshan Siddiqui. 

Earlier, after Trupti Sawant was denied ticket, her supporters protested outside Matoshree. 

Latest News