Maharashtra State Election Commission issues notice to 14 political parties

The notice issued by the State Election Commissioner JS Saharia states that if the political parties fail to submit their expenses incurred during local polls, their registration will be cancelled


Maharashtra State Election Commission has issued show cause notices to 14 political parties for not submitting their expenditure incurred in the local body elections. The notice stated the parties to provide details of their expenses till March 10. 

Political parties including Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Shiv Sena, Congress, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP), Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), Communist Party of India (CPI), CPI (Marxist), Janata Dal (Secular), All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) have been issued the notice.

State Election Commissioner JS Saharia asked the political parties to file their expenses incurred in the local elections or their registeration will stand cancelled. 

Also Read - Elections 2019: Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis Dismisses Speculations Of Premature Elections In Maharashtra

Earlier on October 15, 2016, the State Election Commission made it mandatory for all political parties to provide their expenses incurred during polls. However, mostly the political parties are negligent regarding the same. Therefore, the State EC has sent strict notice to all the concerned political parties. 

Latest News