Vijay Hazare Trophy: Chhattisgarh defeat defending champions Mumbai in a thriller

Batting first, Mumbai's experienced opener Aditya Tare hit 90 runs off 107 balls and remained the top-scorer for his match. However, his gritty knock ended up for the losing side


In a major upset for defending champions Mumbai, Chhattisgarh defeated them by five wickets in a high-scoring thriller in the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Saturday, September 28. Playing at the Alur Cricket Stadium III, Mumbai posted 317-5 in their allotted 50 overs after they were put to bat first. But Chhattisgarh chased the target with one ball to spare and rode on a match-winning-117 not out by middle-order batsman Amandeep Khare.

Batting first, Mumbai's experienced opener Aditya Tare slammed 90 off 107 balls and remained the top-scorer. After his partner Jay Bista (24) was dismissed cheaply, Tare received support from young prodigy Yashasvi Jaiswal (44) as the two stabilised the innings for Mumbai.

Skipper Shreyas Iyer too chipped in with a 46-ball 50. As Iyer departed, Mumbai was comfortably poised at 4-238 in 45 overs. However, Suryakumar Yadav took the task to uplift the innings on himself as he hammered eight fours and six sixes in his quickfire 81 off 31 balls and took Chhattisgarh bowlers to cleaners.

Despite a poor start, Chhattisgarh batsman Khare showed his mettle and made a gritty 117 off just 94 balls, with eight fours and four sixes to his credit. He also shared an unbeaten 96-run stand with Ajay Mandal (39 not out) as the two took the side home.

Latest News