Uddhav Thackeray Government passes the floor test

BJP MLAs staged a walkout

Uddhav Thackeray Government passes the floor test

The Maha Vikas Aghadi led by Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray won the vote of confidence securing 169 votes, The trust vote was held on Saturday (30th November) at 2:00 PM. The votes that Maha Vikas Aghadi managed to get are considerably higher than the minimum of 145 required in the 288-member Maharashtra assembly.

The 2-day special Assembly session called specifically for the floor test and the election of Speaker. The proceeding of the session started with a war of words and BJP MLAs claimed that the oath-taking ceremony was unconstitutional. They were also BJP is protesting against the selection of Nationalist Congress Party's Dilip Walse Patil as Protem speaker. Mr Patil had replaced BJP's Kalidas Kolambkar as Protem speaker

The ex-Chief Minister, Devendra Fadnavis of BJP said that,  "Never in the history of Maharashtra assembly, a trust vote was conducted without electing a Speaker. What was the fear this time?" After this the BJP MLAs also staged a walkout. The trust vote came after a stormy start..

NCP, Shiv Sena and Congress together have 154 MLAs with them and some of the independent candidates also voted in favor of Maha Vikas Aghadi. According to the protem speaker, four members abstained from voting. In addition, there was zero votes against the trust resolution as the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party had walked out of the session.