Citizenship Amendment Bill: Shiv Sena may take a different stance in Rajya Sabha

After Sena MPs backed the Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB) in Lok Sabha, Uddhav Thackeray said that his party won’t support the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill (CAB) in the upper house until the questions on the bill are answered.


After Shiv Sena MPs voted in favour of the CAB in Lok Sabha, Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray on Tuesday said that Shiv Sena will not back the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill in Rajya Sabha.

While talking to the media, Thackeray said that Shiv Sena won’t support the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill (CAB) in the upper house until the questions on the bill are answered. Thackeray was referring to the questions asked by Sena MPs in the Lok Sabha.

We need to change this notion that one who supports the bill and the BJP is a patriot and rest are anti-national. The government should answer all the issues raised regarding the bill,” said CM Uddhav Thackeray.

Shiv Sena has suggested changes it wants to be included in the bill.  

We need clarifications on where will the refugees stay? In which state? All this needs to be clarafied. We raised some questions but they were not answered in Lok Sabha,” said Uddhav Thackeray.

Thackeray made these remarks after 18 Shiv Sena MPs in Lok Sabha voted in favour of the CAB introduced by Union Home Minister Amit Shah. Meanwhile, Sena’s ally Congress has termed this bill as “unconstitutional”.

Shiv Sena MP in Rajya Sabha, Sanjay Raut had earlier said that his party might take a different stand on the CAB in Rajya Sabha. Sena has only three MPs in the upper house.

Even if Sena decides to oppose the CAB in Rajya Sabha, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government has large numbers to get this bill passed in the upper house.

The CAB will be debated in Rajya Sabha today. Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Monday introduced the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill in Lok Sabha in the ongoing winter session of Parliament. 

Later, after a day-long debate, the CAB was passed in Lok Sabha with 311 Ayes and 80 Noes. The vote happened after midnight.

The CAB will give citizenship to Hindus, Sikhs, Buddhists, Christians and Parsis who got into India from Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Pakistan while leaving Muslims. 

Latest News