NSCI All India Open Squash Tournament 2019: Navmi Shah, Yash Fadte clinch the U-19 crowns

Yash Fadte of Goa easily defeated Tushar Shahani in straight games 3-0 to clinch the boys’ under-19 title in the 4th NSCI All India Open (Junior and Senior) Squash Tournament 2019, at the NSCI squash courts on Wednesday



Maharashtra’s Navmi Shah and Goa’s Yash Fadte emerged champions winning the girls’ and boys’ under-19 crowns respectively in of the ₹5.5 lakh prize money 4th NSCI All India Open (Junior and Senior) Squash Tournament 2019.

The top-seed Navmi encountered a strong challenge from compatriot Bhavna Goyal the joint third-fourth seed before clinching a close 3-2 win in an absorbing and tense girls’ under-19 final at the glass courts at NSCI on Wednesday.

The contest between the two Mumbai based girls was an exciting contest as both Navmi and Bhavna slugged it out and fought hard for every point as the match went to the fifth game. In the decider, Navmi held her nerves and to snatch an 11-5, 9-11, 11-2, 10-12, 11-6 victory.

Earlier, the Goan lad Yash stamped his authority by comfortably defeating Maharashtra’s Tushar Shahani in three long games. Both Yash and Tushar were cautious and were engaged in long rallies and waited for the opponent to make the mistake. The fitter Yash after taking the first game started to dominate the rallies against Tushar and slowly but steadily went on to coast to victory-sealing a satisfying 11-6, 11-5 and 11-5 win. This was Yash’s fifth triumph in the NSCI tournament.

Both Navami and Yash were presented with the champions trophy and a cash award of Rs 18,880 while Bhavna and Tushar received a cash prize of Rs 11,210.

Earlier, second seed Aishwarya Khubchandani produced an impressive performance and hit some superb winners to outplay top seed Ananya Dabke by smoothly cruising to an 11-5, 11-3, 11-4 win an all-Maharashtra girls’ under-17 final.

In the boys’ under-17 final, which was also a contested between two Maharashtra players, top seed Arnaav Sareen tamed Tanay Punjabi 11-9, 11-6, 11-3 to emerge champion.

Results (all finals)

Girls’ U-11: 1-Akanksha Gupta (MH) beat Anika Dubey (MH) 11-3, 11-6, 11-7.

Boys’ U-11: 1-Subhash Choudhary (RJ) beat 2-Rachit Shah (MH) 11-5, 11-8, 11-7.

Girls’ U-13: 3/4-Anahat Singh (DL) beat 1-Unnati Tripathi (UK) 11-6, 11-9, 11-5.

Boys’ U-13: 2-Ekambir Singh (MH) beat 1-Vivaan Bhatia (MH) 11-6, 11-6, 11-6.

Girls; U-15: 3/4-Kaavya Bansal (MH) beat 1-Aasya Patel (MP) 12-10, 9-11, 11-9, 11-5.

Boys’ U-15: 1-Paarth Ambani (MH) beat 2-Rutva Samant (MH) 11-8, 13-11, 11-2.

Girls’ U-17: 2-Aishwarya Khubchandani (MH) beat 1-Ananya Dabke (MH) 11-5, 11-3, 11-4.

Boys’ U-17: 1-Arnaav Sareen (MH) beat Tanay Punjabi (MH) 11-9, 11-6, 11-3.

Girls U-19: 1-Navmi Sharma (MH) beat 3/4-Bhavna Goyal (MH) 11-5, 9-11, 11-2, 10-12, 11-6  

Boys’ – U-19: 3/4-Yash Fadte (GA) beat Tushar Shahani (MH) 11-6, 11-5, 11-5.