Legislative Council Elections: Prithiviraj Deshmukh retrieves his name from nomination

It is being said that Deshmukh has taken back his candidacy, on the last day of filing nomination, under the influence of Chief Minister


Ahead of Maharashtra Legislative Council elections, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Prithviraj Deshmukh withdrew his candidacy at the last minute. As this happened, of the 11 seats, there are now 11 candidates instead of 12. Deshmukh announced this, amid monsoon session in Nagpur, to Parliamentary Affairs Minister Girish Bapat.

After Mahadev Jankar decided not contest legislative elections from BJP but his party – Rashtriya Samaj Paksha (RSP), there were speculations on who will give up their candidacy. It is being said that Deshmukh has retrieved his name under the influence of Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.

Maharashtra Legislative Council elections have been scheduled on July 16. On the last day to file nomination, Prithviraj Deshmukh took his name back. This is an interesting turn of events in the elections.

Also Read - 12 Applications Over 11 Vidhan Parishad Seats; BJP’s Prithviraj Deshmukh Files Nomination

The list of contenders for 11 seats of Legislative council elections consists of leaders including Animal Husbandry Minister and RSP candidate Mahadev Jankar along with BJP’s Vijay Girkar, Ram Patil Ratlikar, Ramesh Patil and Shiv Sena’s Anil Parab and Manisha Kayande.

Peasants and Workers Party of India (PWP) will fight its battle by fielding Jayant Patil and Congress’ Sharad Ranpise and Vajahat Mirza will contest the elections along with Nationalist Congress Party’s (NCP) Baba Jani Durani. 

Latest News